7 Most Important Dynasties of China

Posted on

It goes without saying that China and its culture has been the cultural forerunner for many countries. Dating from the period of 2000 years BC, it is one of the oldest cultures in the modern history of man. The list of 7 most important Chinese dynasties has the objective to introduce you with the most relevant facts of Chinese imperial era.

1. Shang Dynasty and the Development of Writing and Bronze Technology

The Shang dynasty (1600-1046 BC), also called the Yin dynasty, was located in the Northern China. Due to its cultural inheritance, it is thought to be the cornerstone of the Chinese history. It was the first dynasty for which there was both archeological and documentary evidence to support its existence. During this period, the Chinese used turtle shells and flat cattle as a means of writing. The Shang dynasty introduced the use of bronze metallurgy. As a result, many bronze temples and artifacts date from this time.

2. Zhou Dynasty and the Foundation of Confucianism

The Zhou dynasty (1050-256 BC) was ruling for almost a millennium, making it the longest dynasty in the history of China. During its rule, the Chinese territory vastly increased, mainly to the South. Often compared to the European feudal system, the hierarchical order that the dynasty introduced was distinctive. It was based on ancestral cults. However, this attempt to preserve order within the state failed, and the numerous wars broke out. This is known as the Warring States period. It was during this tumultuous years that Confucius was born. He was the founder of Confucianism, the philosophy that emphasized morality, justice, and social correctness.

PrevPage 1 of 4Next

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *